The Agoudas Hakehilos synagogue, commonly referred to at the Pavee synagogue, rue Pavee synagogue, or Guimard synagogue, was erected in 1913 by the architect Hector Guimard, and inaugurated on June 7, 1914.
Its erection is a testament to the massive wave of immigration from Eastern Europe that took place at the turn of the 20th century. Funded by a wealthy Polish-Russian group it did not cost the Parisian community a centime.
The furnishings (luminaires, chandeliers, brackets, and benches) as well as the stylized vegetal decorations made of staff and the cast iron railings are all creations of Hector Guimard. This was the only religious building by this architect, who was known for his Art Nouveau designs.
On the evening of Yom Kippur in 1941, the building was dynamited along with six other Parisian synagogues. It was subsequently restored and was registered as a monument historique by the French authorities on June 4, 1989.
Source : Wikipedia contributors, "Agoudas Hakehilos Synagogue"
- The 4th district Jewish quarter (The Pletzl) - The Place Saint-Paul and the surrounding (mostly pedestrial) area is unofficially named the Pletzl, which means "little square" in yiddish, and is the most famous jewish quarter of Paris. It is now well-known for its synagogues, butchers, Jewish delicatessens, and falafel vendors - all open on sunday.